2012 Good Design Awards Announced

We recap the winners of the 2012 Good Design awards, which recognize the best designs of the year across numerous categories.

The Chicago Athenaeum Museum of Architecture and Design, in cooperation with the European Centre for Architecture, Art, Design and Urban Studies, recently announced the recipients of the 2012 Good Design Awards.

Considered one of the most prestigious and oldest design awards in the industry, Good Design covers new products designed and manufactured in Europe, Asia, Africa, and North and South America. The trademarked awards were created in Chicago in 1950 by three architects: Eero Saarinen, Charles and Ray Eames, and Edgar Kaufmann, Jr.

The emphasis of the GOOD DESIGN program is on quality design of the highest form, function, and aesthetic—a standard beyond ordinary consumer products and graphics. The Chicago Athenaeum's GOOD DESIGN program forwards the ideals of a design process that embodies product excellence and endurance and strong public identity.

This year’s jury included George Beylerian, Material Connexion; Louise Braverman, Louise Braverman, Architect; Katherine Chia, Desai/Chia Architecture; Mr. Mark Husser, Managing Partner, Nicholas Grimshaw & Partners Limited; Jack Pascarosa, Partner, Evidence Design; Mathieu Turpault, Design Director, Bresslergroup; and Casimir Zdanius, Head of Industrial Design, Nicholas Grimshaw & Partners Limited.

Here are some notable winners from the Furniture, Textiles, Industrial, Building Products/Materials, Bath and Accessories, K&B, Flooring and Wallcovering, and Lighting categories. Find the full list (spanning all categories) at the official Good Design website.


Cloud Nine Indoor/Outdoor Collection
Designed by Richard Frinier (FrinierAtelier) and Martha Lopacki, Greg Robb, Victor Garcia, and Tom Taggart (R+D Department, Brown Jordan).
Manufactured by Brown Jordan

Designed by Martin Ballendat, Design Ballendat
Manufactured by Tonon

Allsteel Clarity Seating Series
Designed by BMW Group Designworks USA
Manufactured by Allsteel

READ: Read about Patrick McEneany, Clarity’s designer, in our listing of 10 designers to watch.

BLOG Chair and Barstool
OCTO Stool
Designed by Stefano Sandonà, Stefano Sandonà Design
Manufactured by Gaber

extremis® hopper table/sun shade/bench
Designed by Dirk Wynants Design Works
Manufactured by Extremis

minuscule Chair and Table
Designed by Cecilie Manz
Manufactured by Fritz Hansen

Tipo (Opt4 by KI in USA) Chair
Designed by Taku Kumazawa, Research & Design, Aichi Co., Ltd.
Manufactured by Aichi Co.

Malmö Chair
Designed by Michele Cazzaniga, Simone Mandelli, and Antonio Pagliarulo, Collectivo. Designetwork
Manufactured by Pedrali

Stylex Brooks Chair
Designed by Paul Brooks, Stylex, Inc.
Manufactured by Stylex, Inc.

F Chair
Designed by Yasu Nakamura, Bow Design
Manufactured by Itoki Corporation

Joyten TR Chair
Designed by Hiroto Usumoto, Itoki Product Design
Manufactured by Itoki Corporation

Teknion Interpret™ Universal Desking System
Designed by Geoffrey Milligan, Teknion in-house design team
Manufactured by Teknion

Twisted X Desk
Designed by Philip Michael Wolfson, Wolfson Design
Manufactured by DESIGNLUSH

Larkspur Planters
Designed by Larry Kornegay, Landscape Forms
Manufactured by Landscape Forms

American Seating Us™ Chair Family
Designed by Jeff Weber, John Blomstrom, and Jason Holt (Studio Weber + Associates) and Laura Guido Clark, Dave Wolf, Doug Fasset, and Paul Martus (Laura-Guido-Clark Design)
Manufactured by American Seating Company

Humanscale Float Sit-Stand Height-Adjustable Table
Designed by Humanscale Design Studio, Humanscale
Manufactured by Humanscale

Whiskey Lounge Chairman and Ottomam
Designed by Janice Feldman, JANUS et Cie
Manufactured by JANUS et Cie

the edge Modular Furniture
Designed by Primo Orpilla, Verda Alexander, Denise Cherry, and Alma Lopez (Studio O+A)
Manufactured by OFS Brands

Ottawa Dining Table and Chair
Designed by Karim Rashid
Manufactured by BoConcept

Oasis Overbed Table
Designed by Gary Cruce, Nemschoff, Inc.
Manufactured by Nemschoff, Inc. and Herman Miller Healthcare

Tara Rae Hill Heathcare Furniture Bench Series
Designed by Tara Rae Hill, LittleFISH Think Tank
Manufactured by IoA Healthcare Furniture

BEYOND Architectural Walls
Designed by Eberhard Von Huene, Eberhard von Huene & Associates
Manufactured by Allsteel

READ: I&S gets an exclusive interview with Beyond in our Product Q&A.

Olivares Aluminum Chair
Designed by Jonathan Olivares, Jonathan Olivares Design Research
Manufactured by Knoll

The Lounge Collection
Designed by Pierre Becler and Jean-Christophe Poggioli, Pierre Becler and Jean-Christophe Poggioli (Architecture & Associés)
Manufactured by Knoll

ReGeneration by Knoll
Designed by Formway Design
Manufactured by Knoll

CP Lounge Collection
Designed by Charles Pollock
Manufactured by Bernhardt Furniture Company

Designed by Joe Doucet, Joe Doucet Studio
Manufactured by Bernhardt Furniture Company

Kartell Miss Less
Designed by Philippe Starck with Eugeni Quitllet
Manufactured by Kartell

Kartell Invisible Table
Designed by Tokujin Yoshioka, Tokujin Yoshioka, Inc.
Manufactured by Kartell

Kartell Audrey
Designed by Piero Lissoni, lissoniassociati
Manufactured by Kartell

Lento Lounge Chair

Designed by Harry Koskinen, Friends of Industry
Manufactured by Artek

Pages: 1  2  3  View All