2013 National Design-Build Awards Program Call for Submissions Now Open


2013 National Design-Build Awards Program Call for Submissions Now Open

Program honors the best design-build projects in 10 categories; Deadline for entries is May 21, 2013.

National DBIA Awards

The Design-Build Institute of America (DBIA) invites project team members to submit successful design-build project(s) for the 2013 National Design-Build Project Awards competition. Completed entries and entry fee payments must arrive at the DBIA National office in Washington, D.C., no later than May 21, 2013. As the only organization that defines, teaches and promotes best practices in design-build project delivery, DBIA is committed to highlighting the best projects achieved through this integrated delivery method.

The acceptance of single-entity risk is the defining feature of design-build project delivery and winning submissions must be carried out under a DBIA or other single responsibility contract. Only projects completed on time, on budget and without litigation will be considered for an award. Projects are honored for design and construction that meets or exceeds owner expectations. DBIA accepts submissions in the following 10 categories:

• Civic
• Commercial
• Correctional Facilities
• Educational Facilities
• Healthcare
• Industrial/Process/Research Facilities
• Office Buildings
• Rehabilitation/Renovation/Restoration
• Transportation
• Water/Wastewater

To be considered for a National Design-Build Project Award, projects must demonstrate successful application of design-build best practices as defined by DBIA’s Design-Build Manual of Practice. These include early integration of key team members and close coordination between design and construction team members from the design development stage through field construction. This year DBIA has further streamlined the submission process, removing redundancies and adding a section pertaining to teaming performance.

All projects submitted to the awards program may be considered for DBIA’s 2013 Design Excellence Award at no additional charge. To be considered for this award, submissions must include an optional Excellence in Design PowerPoint and a letter from the lead designer on the project. If the lead designer is submitting the award, then a letter from the lead construction company should be included. Only the highest scoring projects on this portion of the submission will be considered by the Design Excellence Jury for the prestigious Design Excellence Award.

A Best Overall project will be chosen by the Project Awards Jury from the pool of highest-scoring projects from all categories. Judging will take place at DBIA headquarters in June 2013, by a jury of industry experts.

Awards will be presented during the 2013 Design-Build Conference & Expo, Nov. 4-6, at The Mirage in Las Vegas, Nevada. More information on the 2013 National Design-Build Awards Program and the downloadable submission package are available at www.dbia.org/about/awards. Email questions to awards@dbia.org.


comments powered by Disqus

Newsletter Subscriptions

©Copyright 2014 Stamats Communications, Inc. All rights reserved. / interiors+sources