Return to site home page


ASID Opens Design Awards Nominations

Process simplified for 2014.


Process simplified for 2014.

American Society of Interior Designers

WASHINGTON, D.C.--The American Society of Interior Designers (ASID) has announced the beginning of its annual awards season with a streamlined nomination process. The four ASID Awards represent best in class for the field: Designer of Distinction, Design for Humanity, Design Innovation and the Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit Award. Nominations are now open for these awards, which represent the Society's highest level of professional recognition. The winners will be honored at Celebration, the Society's annual conference, on June 21, 2014, in Los Angeles.

"Every year the ASID Awards represent an opportunity to share and honor the exceptional work of our colleagues," said ASID President Rachelle Schoessler Lynn. "Public recognition of these innovative leaders is essential to advancing the profession and demonstrating the impact of interior design on our lives."

The 2014 revised nomination process requires the nominator to complete a short online form instead of providing documentation supporting the nominee's accomplishments, as was the case previously. ASID will contact eligible nominees directly to request a portfolio of materials documenting their work.

Nominations may be made through Jan. 5. Nominee portfolio submissions will be accepted from Jan. 13 to Feb. 9.

The Society's four awards recognize the achievements of members and non-members, individuals and teams, as well as institutions, corporations and manufacturers:

Designer of Distinction Award - The premier award for personal achievement and social consciousness in the interior design field, it honors an ASID professional member who over the course of his or her interior design career has established a body of superior work demonstrating creativity, excellence and innovation.

Design for Humanity Award - Celebrates an individual or institution for contributions to improving the human experience through environmentally friendly interior design projects or activities that demonstrate far-reaching impact.

Design Innovation Award - Recognizes an individual, institution, manufacturer or research team for producing an innovative project, product or body of work that contributes significantly to advancing the field of interior design.

Nancy Vincent McClelland Merit Award - Pays tribute to the accomplishments of McClelland, an ardent advocate for professional recognition who was the first woman president of the American Institute of Decorators (now ASID) from 1941 to 1944. First presented in 2011, the award honors an individual, organization, manufacturer or research team for outstanding support of the interior design profession.

To learn more about the awards, eligibility and criteria, previous winners and how to submit a nomination visit