Return to site home page


Core77 Announces Appointment of Four Jury Teams

Industry Leaders join Core77 to contribute to ground-breaking global design awards


Core77 Adds Four Jury Teams

NEW YORK - Launched to celebrate the richness of the design profession and its practitioners, the Core77 Inaugural Design Competition has met with an overwhelming response, exceeding expectations with more than 1500 registrations within the first ten days. Registrants span the globe and include countries such as Egypt, South Korea, India, Belguim, Brazil, Nigeria and Australia.

Core77 is addressing many of the challenges of the design award paradigm, building upon the very things that can make it great: leveraging online scale, increasing transparency, and decreasing plane fuel in the process.  From client work to self-initiated efforts, from entrepreneurial to pro-bono, there are new currencies in design whose value can be commercial, cultural, social, environmental, or discursive.  The Core77 Design Awards welcomes projects in all of these spheres, and honors the time, effort, and quality of the endeavors, no matter their provenance.  

Further, Core77 is pleased to announce a prestigious list of individuals from around the world, who will form the first four of a total of fifteen jury teams.  The four jury teams listed below will address the following areas: products/equipment; strategy/research; graphics/branding/identity; and transportation.


Judging Location: NEW YORK, NY 

Julie Lasky (Jury Captain)

Editor of Change Observer

Team Members:

Stephen Burks - Design Director of Readymade Projects

Zoe Coombes - Co-Founder & Principal of Cmmnwlth

Chris Hacker - Chief Design Officer at Johnson & Johnson Consumer Companies

Maria Popova - Editor of Brain Pickings



Judging Location: TURIN, ITALY

Mark Vanderbeeken (Jury Captain)

Senior Partner at Experientia 

Team Members:

Monica Dalla Riva - European Design Center Manager, Consumer & Office Business at 3M 

Kyung Hoon Lee - Head of Office at Samsung Design Milan, Samsung Electronics Co.

Eva Teruzzi - Director, Business R&D at Fiero Milano Spa

Lowie Vermeersch - Founder/Creative Directo at Granstudio and former Director of Design at Pininfarina 



Judging Location: NEW YORK, NY

Steven Heller (Jury Captain) 

Author/Writer and Co-Chair of the MFA Designer as Author Program at School of Visual Arts

Team Members:

Arem Duplessis - Design Director at The New York Times

Mark Randall - Partner at Worldstudio

Paula Scher - Partner at Pentagram

Bonnie Siegler - Co-Founder of Number 17




Lars Larsen (Jury Captain)

CEO, Co-Founder and Creative Director of KiBiSi

Team Members:

Peter Ingwersen - Founder of Noir

Nille Juul-Sørensen - Associate Director and Architect M.A.A. at Arup

Frederik Ottesen - Facilitator at Solar Flight

Jens Martin Skibsted - Founder of Biomega

Kristian Von Bengtson - Founder and Spacecraft Designer at Copenhagen Suborbitals